Reflective / Subjective

Strangers

There was a time when I had friends
whom only I could ever see,
Brave, intelligent and funny
they could be whatever I wanted them to be.

Countless hours we’ve spent together
Fighting evil at every turn,
slaying dragons and fighting ghosts
watching demons while they burn.

Soon enough things had to change
my head was filled with doubt.
An evil called intelligence,
Challenged belief to a deadly bout.

When the dust settled it was all but over
Belief bowed its bloody head.
It ran away into the farthest corners,
Hidden somewhere, for it will never be dead.

Now I stand alone in this shallow world
to its will I must succumb.
There was a time when I had friends
but strangers we’ve become.

Leave a Reply

